NAF World Headquarters

Rules Questions - Fouling and Bribes

Spazzfist - Aug 10, 2009 - 07:53 AM
Post subject: Fouling and Bribes
I do not have my rulebook with me right now, so forgive me if this is clearly answered in there.

At what point does a bribe have to be used when fouling? If caught on the armour penetration does have to be used right then, or can you wait for the injury roll?

My dilemma is that if you only have one bribe and you roll doubles on the armour roll, you might not want to use the bribe just in case you roll doubles on the injury roll as well!

Foul = doubles <CAUGHT>
Bribe - works!
Injury = doubles <CAUGHT>
no more bribes, and your first one was wasted.....

Just need some clarification....
Hullekoenig - Aug 10, 2009 - 08:27 AM
Post subject: RE: Fouling and Bribes
There may be a little room for debate BUT the LRB states as follows:
      Quote:
To reflect this, if the Armour and/or Injury roll is a doubles (i.e.,
two 1s, or two 2s, etc), the referee has spotted the foul, and the
player taking the Foul Action is sent off to the dungeon that lies
under every Blood Bowl pitch. In addition, his team suffers a
turnover and their turn ends immediately. If the sent off player
was holding the ball, the ball bounces from the square he was
standing in when sent off. A player who is sent to the dungeon is
locked up and may not play for the rest of the match, even if the
referee is subsequently ???got??? by the crowd as a result of a roll on
the Kick-Off table. A coach may not replace a player who has
been sent off until after the drive ends.

The and/or says, that if there was a double at any point during your fouling action, your player is sent off (you do get to roll the injury, even when you trow a double on the armour roll). So you should see the foul as one action requiring two rolls.
The bribe can avoid that your player is sent off:
      Quote:
Each bribe allows you to attempt to ignore one call by the referee
for a player who has committed a foul to be sent off, or a player
armed with a secret weapon to be banned from the match. Roll a
D6: on a roll of 2-6 the bribe is effective (preventing a turnover if
the player was ejected for fouling), but on a roll of 1 the bribe is
wasted and the call still stands! Each bribe may be used once
per match.


So judging from the text you can decide to use the bribe after you completed the foul (with armour and injury if necessary). And it does not matter wether you rolled doubles on either or both of them.
Doubleskulls - Aug 10, 2009 - 07:29 PM
Post subject: RE: Fouling and Bribes
If you roll doubles on armour and injury then you are still only sent off once - so a single successful bribe would stop you being sent off.
sydalv - Sep 28, 2009 - 08:03 AM
Post subject: RE: Fouling and Bribes
Can I use a team re-roll to reroll the bribe result?
SumBloke - Sep 28, 2009 - 04:39 PM
Post subject: RE: Fouling and Bribes
No. It's not a roll being made by a player.
All times are
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2009 The Zafenio Team
Credits